Distractions


I saw a video over this weekend. It involved a whole lot of exploding goodness.

I needed to try this.

Obviously I’m not about to go and ruin my main games, so I set about having a lot of fun with an inventory editor to supply myself with unlimited TNT and many shiny things for the explicit purpose of blowing the ever-loving crap out of some mountains in a brand new game world. Just needed to make that clear.

There is a bit of a learning curve for this stuff. You don’t want to put your chain of TNT anywhere near lava for example. It pops out those lil fireballs that can really ruin your plans. At once point this happened to me. I figured I had placed it far enough back, but 10mins later when much further in I started hearing distant explosions and I immediately knew I’d mucked up.

Thankfully, there was a break in the chain somewhere and it stopped before it got to me. I had quickly dug myself a little side tunnel just in case though!

Water is another one to watch for. Water will dampen the explosion (no pun intended). If you place some behind a waterfall and some in front, there’s a really good chance they won’t chain, so you need to be pretty careful with this if you want the chain to carry on.

I’ve not managed anything quite as grand as in HuskyMUDKIPZ’s videos, but I’m getting better at understanding what can and can’t be done.

Leave a Reply

