Boxes, expansions and caves, oh my!


Yesterday I noticed this rather frustrating sight:

 

Overflowing chest
Dude, you need moar boxez!

 

Mm, my sentiments exactly.

There’s not a whole lot of point in hauling all your mined lootz up to the house if there’s nowhere to stash them. I also wanted to avoid turning what is essentially my entry hall/sitting-room area into a fecking storage room.

So, I came up with a cunning plan. Build a basement level that runs down and meets up with the first level downwards in the mine shaft, thus making it really easy to climb to this level, lootz in backpack and stash it some kind of storage solution akin to something from Ikea, but easier to assemble and with less tasty meatballs.

I spotted a decent solution I liked in this video, where I also grabbed the texture pack that I’ll be using from now on; tis awesome! By and large this is a wholesale rip from that video, but much like ye olde X-Light, if something works well, imma gonna nicks it!

 

Storage solution
The only kind of DIY you're likely to catch me doing in a long time. Click to embiggen!

 

Things are much tidier now, but I figure I’ll need to expand it further later on. Luckily, this is not a problem.

But what of the ‘giant cave’ promised before?

What indeed! At first I was just enjoying a large natural cave formation. For the first few hours anyway. Working my way through various parts of it, carefully killing baddies, lighting up the area and occasionally being pushed into lava by a frustrating water stream. You know, the usual.

A while after this though, after trying several times to find the way out again, I realised just how damned big this place is. I can’t show it in screenshots due to it being twisty – there’s no sense of scale, so I made a short video!

And that’s not all. A second, and third visit through the tunnels eventually landed me here:

 

An exit to the cave system
Yes, that's my house over there!

 

That’s quite a long way to travel underground. It turns out that one of the first caves I found in this area is actually part of this big bastard. This is no cave. This is Moria!

And thus it was named.

I spent about 3-4 hours running around and mining anything and everything I could get my hands on. There’s still a whole bunch of stuff down there to get. Since its so easy to get lost in the place, I’m certain there’s more.

I have no intention of keeping a running total of my finds down there, but for the first two treks, I have found the following:

  • 12 spotted toadstools
  • 23 diamond
  • 50 gold
  • 368 redstone dust
  • 600ish coal
  • 242 iron
  • 100s of obsidian when I have the tools for it

Next I want to do something that’ll either help my infrastructure, or some transit systems to make getting around much easier. We shall see…

2 thoughts on “Boxes, expansions and caves, oh my!

Leave a Reply

