On Various Holidays and What They Represent to Me


This is for where I am; in the UK. Other places have different, more, or less holidays, and obviously I’m not going to talk about them. 😛

  1. New Year’s Day: Ugh, so hungover/chillout day
  2. Valentine’s Day: Why do you need a specified day in which to show you care about someone special? Show it through your actions on all days. You mook.
  3. Mothers’ Day: Similar to the above, but ingrained in us all regardless of relationship status. Also, why is it a different date in different places?
  4. Easter: Irrelevant. Cheap chocolates the day after though – that’s a win.
  5. May Day: Irrelevant.
  6. Spring Bank Holiday: Irrelevant. Also seems to happen in early summer, wtf is with that?
  7. Fathers’ Day: See Valentine’s and Mothers’ above.
  8. August Bank Holiday: Irrelevant.
  9. Christmas: Family, and as little to do with religion as humanly possible.
  10. New Year’s: Yay booze!

There’s also my birthday, which is a holiday because I say it is. It’s also the one day of the year that I will not work on. I’ve ditched clients that call me on that day, and I’ve walked out of jobs that try to make me work/come in. Some people have a real problem with this concept, and I don’t know why.

One thought on “On Various Holidays and What They Represent to Me

  1. “here’s also my birthday, which is a holiday because I say it is. It’s also the one day of the year that I will not work on. I’ve ditched clients that call me on that day, and I’ve walked out of jobs that try to make me work/come in. Some people have a real problem with this concept, and I don’t know why.”

    because *they* don’t do it, so they feel that you shouldn’t be entitled to, either.

    (often a failing that doesn’t take into account people are different to each other and prioritize things differently and that’s OK).

Leave a Reply

